DUI Lawyer — Building a Strong Defense For Your Case
If you’ve gotten pulled over for driving under the influence, you may be charged with a DUI or DWI. These are both serious offenses and should not be taken lightly, as they can go on your record and have serious consequences for you. The state of Michigan takes a strong stance against intoxicated or impaired drivers. At Kecskes, Gadd, & Parker, PC, we understand that facing these charges is a stressful event. As your DUI lawyer, we can help you navigate the difficult times ahead and find the best result possible.
Serious Defense for Serious Charges
The seriousness of the charge might also depend on the circumstances, your age, and whether it is your first or second offense. In the state of Michigan, a first-offense operating while intoxicated will typically get you a fine and driver’s license restrictions, in addition to some jail time or community service. The blood-alcohol level or blood alcohol concentration needed to be considered “intoxicated” or “under the influence” is .08%. The state will usually file it under one of the three categories:
- DUI (driving under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated): which means “Intoxicated” or “Under the Influence” of drugs or alcohol.
- OWVI, which means operating while visually impaired.
- Containing any amount of schedule one drug in the body.
If you were pulled over and are facing any of the above, finding a DUI lawyer will ensure that you are being treated fairly and all the evidence is put on the table. In the state, courts will work quickly in these cases and decide within 77 days of the arrest.
All three of the above charges come with serious consequences including jail time. If the driver has no prior convictions in the last seven years, then a DUI or OWVI is considered a first offense. You might be facing the possibility of:
- Jail time
- Community service
- License restrictions and/or suspension
- Vehicle loss
- Heavy fines if the passenger is under 16 years old
Michigan carries heavy penalties, even for first offenses. For example, there is a mandatory 6-month driving suspension, though the driver might be eligible for a restricted license after they have served 30 of those days. There is a mandatory one-year license suspension for a first conviction of operating with a BAC of .17 or higher. If the driver is convicted of a higher BAC or has more than one conviction, the court might order mandatory rehabilitation programs including alcohol or drug treatment centers. If you have multiple convictions, the penalties become even harsher.
All of these are serious penalties and can have a profound impact on your life and the life of your loved ones. It’s why it is important to have a dedicated and seasoned DUI lawyer fighting for you in your corner.
The Kecskes, Gadd, & Parker, PC Difference — Choose a DUI Lawyer That Serves You
Facing a DUI charge is no laughing matter. People undergo a series of complicated emotions when facing such a prospect. Life is not black and white and we understand that. It’s why our dedication and passion is in serving our clients and getting the best result for them. Our powerhouse team of attorneys has vast experience with criminal law and charges; we’re interested in finding the best path forward for you.
Contact a Professional DUI Attorney That Will Answer Your Questions
If you have questions, call us for a free consultation. Talk to a professional criminal lawyer that can help you untangle some of the doubts you may be facing. Come by our office or call us at 734-354-8600 and let’s get started on your case right away.