Understanding Your Rights After an Arrest for a Michigan OWI
You could face significant penalties if you are arrested for driving under the influence or a related offense. Depending on the circumstances, you may be required to pay significant fines, lose your driving privileges, or be imprisoned in county jail. The best way to fight the charges against you is by retaining an experienced criminal defense attorney.
At Kecskes, Gadd & Parker, PC, we represent individuals who have been arrested for drunk driving charges in Plymouth, Michigan, and the surrounding areas. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers can help you understand your rights and work to get you the best possible outcome in the case. If you were arrested on DUI charges, contact our office online or call (734) 354-8600 to schedule a free consultation.
OWI Charges in Plymouth, MI
In Michigan, a person who is found to be driving under the influence (DUI) is generally charged with Operating While Intoxicated or an (OWI). Under state law, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher.
Penalties for first-offense OWI charges:
- A fine of up to $500
- A jail sentence of up to 93 days
- Up to 360 hours of community service
- A license suspension of up to six months
- 6 points on your driver’s license
In addition to these penalties, a court may require the installation of an ignition interlock device. A person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .17 or higher may face additional consequences, including a mandatory alcohol treatment program, a higher fine, and a longer jail sentence.
What to Do First After Being Arrested for an OWI
If you are arrested for a Plymouth DUI, the first call you need to make is to a qualified attorney. Drunk driving charges can impact nearly every aspect of your life, including your driving privileges, reputation, and freedom. A conviction for an OWI may cost you your job or worse. An attorney can help you fight the charges against you and help to protect your rights.
Without the help of a qualified criminal defense lawyer, you could face the maximum penalties under Michigan law.
OWI Charges and Lesser Offenses
It is important to note that a person can still be charged with operating while intoxicated even if their blood alcohol level is under 0.08. You may be charged and ultimately convicted of an OWI for operating a vehicle while under the influence of an “alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.”
Michigan law also recognizes a lesser offense of Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI). While a conviction for an OWVI is not as harsh as an OWI, it may still carry a jail sentence and community service hours. However, the license restriction may be shorter, and it may result in fewer points on your license.
Why You Need to Act Quickly After an OWI Arrest
It is imperative to act quickly if you have been arrested for an OWI. Failure to act could result in additional criminal penalties. If you are ordered to appear in court and fail to attend the hearing, a warrant could be issued for your arrest.
Retaining legal counsel as early as possible can help ensure you receive the most favorable disposition possible on your case. A lawyer can walk you through the legal process and help build a strategic defense.
Arrested for a DUI in Plymouth? Contact Our Office.
Have you been arrested or charged with driving under the influence in Plymouth? Contact Kecskes, Gadd, & Parker, PC, to discuss your case directly with a leading DUI lawyer. Our legal team can help you navigate through these challenging times. Call our Plymouth office today at (734) 354-8600 or contact us online to schedule a consultation.